David Baker, PhD, Director of the Institute for Protein Design

David Baker is the Henrietta and Aubrey Davis Endowed Professor in Biochemistry, Director of the Institute for Protein Design, Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and adjunct professor of Genome Sciences, Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, and Physics at the University of Washington. He received his Ph.D. degree in biochemistry with Randy Schekman at the University of California, Berkeley and did postdoctoral work in biophysics with David Agard at UCSF. His research group is focused on the prediction and design of macromolecular structures, interactions and functions. Dr. Baker received young investigator awards from the National Science Foundation and the Beckman Foundation, and the Packard Foundation fellowship in Science and Engineering. He has also received the Irving Sigal Young Investigator award from the Protein Society and the Overton Prize from the International Society of Computational Biology. He is a recipient of the Feynman Prize from the Foresight Institute, the AAAS Newcomb_Cleveland prize, the Sackler prize in biophysics, and the Centenary award from the Biochemical society. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Sciences. His research group is a world leader in computational protein design and protein structure prediction.


lstark24@uw.edu (Leslie Stark – assistant)

media@ipd.uw.edu (press inquiries)



1994 National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award

1994 Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering

1995 Beckman Young Investigator Award

1999 Nominating Committee, Protein Society

2000 Editorial Advisory Board, Protein Science

2000 HHMI Assistant Investigator

2000 Protein Society Young Investigator Award

2002 International Society for Computational Biology Overton Prize

2003 Director, Biomolecular structure and design graduate program (BMSD)

2004 AAAS Newcomb-Cleveland prize

2004 Foresight Institute Feynman Prize

2006 National Academy of Sciences

2007 Editorial Board, PNAS

2008 Sackler Prize in Biophysics

2009 American Academy of Sciences

2011 University of Washington Inventor of the Year Award

2012 Biochemical Society Centenary Award

2014 David Perlman Memorial Award

2017 Henrietta and Aubrey Davis Endowed Professorship in Biochemistry

2018 Protein Society Hans Neurath Award